An appeal for unity

Ours is a nation built on one thing, the desire to be free. Freedom has as many different definitions as there are people, but in that one word we can find that which binds us all together. Left or right, Democrat or Republican, black or white, gay or straight, pro-choice or pro-life; these things we can fight and argue about from now until doomsday, but we can unite under this one desire. We have all been pulled so far away into our own little sqwables and pet causes that we have put too much distance between that which could bring us together; that which bound our fathers, and our grandfathers. We as lovers of freedom cannot allow a small few to divide us, to wipe away our history, and to tell us what we have to accept. I will not allow differences of political opinion to separate me from others who love our country as much as I do, who loves other people as much as I do, and those who love freedom as much as I do. If we don’t come together, if we don’t reach out to one another, if we don’t stop worrying about who’s guy is going to win then we will once again fight brother against brother on a field of battle instead of in an arena of ideals. I’m no better than anyone else. I have put blinders on to anything that didn’t fit inside my box of beliefs and values but I know I can do better. I know we can all do better. There is more to us, to our society, and more to our nation than two immovable sides to everything. Smile at each other, hold a door open, give a wave to drivers who are courteous, and help bear one another’s burdens. Join me in this. Surely it can’t be wrong to love each other and see our shared future under a blanket of freedom.

Author: glendonwatts

My name is Glen. This is my blog with news, articles, opinions, and discussion on politics, religion, and money. My main purpose is to discover, learn about, and uncover the truth. You will find no sacred cows here and no one nor any topic is protected... Disclaimer: My posts are very political and religious in nature and WILL offend you - all of you; not just some - ALL OF YOU (but then again I've never been one to run away from touchy subjects like a sissy) so don't read any of it if you're a whiny baby and get your feelings hurt whenever someone says something you don't like. If you're a pinko commie you need not read any of it anyway because you wouldn't comprehend.

Leave a Reply

